Saints Sending 5 to NJCAA National Wrestling Championships

Saints Wrestling is off to Championships

This past weekend, the Saints hosted the Eastern District 1 Wrestling Championships on the campus of Mercyhurst North East. Niagara County Community College, Nassau Community College, Sullivan Community College, Jamestown Community College and Ulster Community College joined the Saints to make up the District Tournament with the top finishers earning a spot at the NJCAA National Championships.

Deven Simpson, for the Saints, defeated returning All-American Alex Kelly (NCCC) to claim the 184lb Eastern District Championship. Simpson along with fellow Saints Sam Colebert (2nd at 165), Aaron Ehrgott (2nd at 125), Derek Ridgeway (3rd at 157) and Cornell Wilson (3rd at 285) all qualified for the NJCAA National Wrestling Tournament.

The Saints finished 3rd in the team race behind Niagara County CC and Nassau CC. Also placing for the Saints were John Coward (3rd at 133), Ian Wagner (3rd at 197), Quinten Ellis (4th at 174), Gavin Flores (4th at 141) and Dalton Donachie (5th at 149).

Before the championship rounds, 2 Saints alumni were inducted into the Region III Wrestling Hall of Fame. Vinny DiGravio (2011-2012) and Aaron Smith (2012-2013) both were honored for their outstanding wrestling accomplishments throughout their careers with the Mercyhurst North East Saints.

Deven Simpson, Sam Colebert, Aaron Ehrgott, Derek Ridgeway and Cornell Wilson will all head to the NJCAA National Tournament in Council Bluffs, Iowa February 24th and 25th.